XXIX General Assembly of the International Union of Radio Science Union Radio Scientifique Internationale (URSI)

August 07-16, 2008 Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel on the Riverwalk 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60601, USA

Call for Papers

The XXIX General Assembly of the International Union of Radio Science (Union Radio Scientifique Internationale-URSI) will be held at the Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois, USA on August 07-16, 2008.

The XXIX General Assembly will have a scientific program organized around the ten Commissions of URSI and consisting of plenary lectures, public lectures, tutorials, invited and contributed papers. In addition, there will be workshops, short courses, special programs for young scientists and graduate students, programs for accompanying persons, and industrial exhibits. More than 1,500 scientists from more than fifty countries are expected to participate in the Assembly. The detailed program, link to electronic submission site, registration form and hotel information will be available on the General Assembly Web site:

www.ece.uic.edu/2008ursiga

Submissions: All contributions must be submitted electronically via the link provided on

the General Assembly Web site as soon as possible and before the deadline of January 31, 2008. While the number of oral presentations is limited, a practically unlimited number of slots is available for qualified poster presentations, including special poster sessions. Individuals interested in organizing special poster sessions should request permission

from the Chair of the appropriate URSI Commission.

Submission Deadline: January 31, 2008.

Authors Notification: Authors will be notified of the disposition of their submissions by March

31, 2008. Accepted contributions will be scheduled for either oral or

poster presentation.

Contact: For any questions related to the XXIX General Assembly, please contact

the Chair of the Local Organizing Committee:

Prof. P. L. E. Uslenghi

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Illinois at Chicago

851 South Morgan Street

Chicago, Illinois 60607-7053, USA

E-mail: uslenghi@uic.edu

XXIX General Assembly of URSI, Chicago, Illinois, USA – August 07-16, 2008

Organizing Committee

Chair P. L. E. Uslenghi, University of Illinois at Chicago, uslenghi@uic.edu Vice Chair D. Erricolo, University of Illinois at Chicago, erricolo@ece.uic.edu J. E. Carlstrom, *University of Chicago*, jc@hyde.uchicago.edu Technical program

A. Taflove, Northwestern University, taflove@ece.northwestern.edu Poster sessions D. Erricolo, *University of Illinois at Chicago*, erricolo@ece.uic.edu S. R. Laxpati, University of Illinois at Chicago, laxpati@uic.edu Finance T. T. Y. Wong, *Illinois Institute of Technology*, twong@ece.iit.edu

Publications D. Erricolo, University of Illinois at Chicago, erricolo@ece.uic.edu

Young scientists S. C. Hagness, University of Wisconsin at Madison, hagness@engr.wisc.edu Graduate students S. C. Reising, Colorado State University, steven.reising@colostate.edu

Y. Rahmat-Samii, University of California at Los Angeles, rahmat@ee.ucla.edu Workshops & short courses

T. T. Y. Wong, Illinois Institute of Technology, twong@ece.iit.edu **Exhibits** A. Taflove, Northwestern University, taflove@ece.northwestern.edu **Fundraising** P. L. E. Uslenghi, University of Illinois at Chicago, uslenghi@uic.edu

Registration Three Dimensions Meeting Planners, mevegter@verizon.net

or: mevegter@threedimensions.com

Social activities Three Dimensions Meeting Planners, mevegter@verizon.net

Marie Erricolo, Shelly Uslenghi

W. R. Stone, Stoneware Limited, r.stone@ieee.org Contact with Intl. URSI S. K. Avery, University of Colorado at Boulder Honorary member

Official Co-Sponsor SUMMA Foundation (C. E. Baum, President; W. D. Prather, Treasurer)

International Scientific Program Committee

Commission H

Coordinator M. K. Goel (India) **Associate Coordinator** P. L. E. Uslenghi (U.S.A.) Commission A P. Banerjee (India)

Commission B L. Shafai (Canada), K. J. Langenberg (Germany) A. F. Molisch (U.S.A.), T. Ohira (Japan) Commission C Commission D F. de Fornel (France), F. Kaertner (U.S.A.) Commission E F. G. Canavero (Italy), C. Christopoulos (U.K.) Commission F P. Sobieski (Belgium), M. Chandra (Germany) Commission G P. S. Cannon (U.K.), M. Rietveld (Norway)

R. B. Horne (U.K.), Y. Omura (Japan) Commission J R. T. Schilizzi (The Netherlands), S. Ananthakrishnan (India)

Commission K F. Prato (Canada), G. D'Inzeo (Italy)