Wagga 2020

44th Condensed Matter and Materials Meeting
Rotorua, New Zealand, 4-7 February 2020

Getting to Rotorua

There are a number of ways to get to Rotorua from other major centres of New Zealand.


Rotorua is 234 km (3 hours drive) from Auckland and 460 km (6 hours drive) from Wellington. There are many car-rental companies located directly at, and near to, the airport. One can expect to pay about $75 per/day for a standard rental car hire, but costs can vary considerably.


Intercity and Skip Travel run regular bus connections between Rotorua and Auckland and Wellington. Both services have a stop at Auckland airport.


Air New Zealand operates regular services to Rotorua from Auckland (flight time: 45 minutes), Wellington (flight time: 1 hour and 10 minutes), and Christchurch (1 hour and 45 minutes). There are many flights between these airports and Australia daily. Note that international flights will first land at one of these major airports, requiring you to transfer to the domestic connection.

The recommended transfer from Rotorua airport to the conference venue is by shuttle (e.g. Super Shuttle) or taxi. Expect to pay between $20 to $30 one way. It is possible to pre-book your transfer, although the airport is well serviced by taxis. There is also a public bus, no. 10, from the airport to the CBD. From there, one can take bus no. 11 to the conference venue. See the Rotorua transport site for more details.


Australian citizens do not require a visa or travel authorization before travelling to New Zealand. Citizens of visa waiver countries and Australian permanent residents must apply for a New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority before travelling. Citizens of other countries may require a visa.

Please note that it is the responsibility of participants to satisfy New Zealand immigration requirements. Please visit Immigration New Zealand to determine the necessary conditions.


Contact and information

Questions? wagga2020nz@gmail.com

CMM group webpage


Quantum Science Otago 
Nano Vacuum
Ezzi Vision  University of Auckland, School of Chemical Sciences  Scitek Australia  ANSTO