Announcing the Gardiner Session.

In recent years, finite temperature and out of equilibrium dynamics have become accessible in a controlled way in ultracold quantum gases. This offers new exciting insights into the dynamics of many-body quantum systems, and promises new connections to systems in solid-state and high-energy physics. Following on from successful workshops in Sandbjerg, Denmark (2007), Durham, UK (2009), and Heidelberg, Germany (2011), we will bring together international experts in this area in Queenstown, New Zealand from 16-20 February 2013.

The aim of this workshop is to discuss both established and new questions concerning the dynamics of superfluids and strongly interacting gases at finite temperature and out of thermal equilibrium. We will focus on a range of methods for approaching these questions, discussing progress made with the different methods and comparing them. The range of approaches discussed will include:

  • classical and semi-classical field theory
  • c-field methods
  • phase-space methods
  • kinetic equations
  • Gutzwiller and extended Gutzwiller approaches for lattice systems
  • dynamical mean-field theory
  • functional-integral approaches, and quantum dynamics computed via monte-carlo methods
  • density-matrix RG and matrix product state methods
  • exact solutions

We will also discuss specific applications, especially in ultracold atomic gases, as well as exploring connections to related solid state systems and to high energy physics. While we will maintain the character of past workshops in discussing details of the theoretical methods, we intend to invite more participants from experimental research groups than in the past, and to facilitate direct interaction between experimental and theoretical research in out-of-equilibrium systems. Topical areas of the workshop will include:

  • quantum transport and hydrodynamics in strongly interacting systems
  • superfluid systems far from equilibrium, also in comparison with near-equilibrium dynamics
  • critical systems, including quenches and phase transitions
  • thermalisation and prethermalisation in systems out of true equilibrium
  • effects of dimensionality on non-equilibrium evolution
  • open quantum systems and dissipative dynamics, including novel cooling schemes for lattice gases
  • highly excited metastable states in quantum gases
  • quantum turbulence and hydrodynamic instability

List of confirmed speakers:

  • Prof. Brian Anderson, University of Arizona
  • Prof. Immanuel Bloch, Ludwid-Maximilians-Universität, Muechcen
  • Prof. Joachim Brand, Massey University
  • Prof. Cheng Chin, University of Chicago
  • Prof. Michael Fleischhauer, Universität Kaiserslautern
  • Dr. Simon Gardiner, Durham University
  • Prof. Dimitri Gangardt, University of Birmingham
  • Prof. Thomas Gasenzer, Heidelberg University
  • Dr. Kaden Hazzard, JILA
  • Prof. Walter Hofstetter, Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
  • Dr. Evgeny Kozik, Ecole Polytechnique
  • Dr. Maximilian Kuhnert, Vienna University of Technology
  • Dr. Philip Makotyn, JILA
  • Dr. Manfred Mark, Universität Innsbruck
  • Prof. Tetsuro Nikuni, Tokyo University of Science
  • Prof. Markus Oberthaler, Heidelberg University
  • Dr. Marie Piraud, Institut d'Optique
  • Prof. Dario Poletti, Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Prof. William Phillips, NIST and University of Maryland
  • Prof. Nikolai Prokof'ev, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Prof. Marcos Rigol, Georgetown University
  • Prof. Janne Ruostekoski, University of Southampton
  • Prof. Lea Ferreira dos Santos, Yeshiva University
  • Prof. Luis Santos, University of Hannover
  • Prof. Ulrich Schollwöck, Ludwid-Maximilians-Universität, Muechcen
  • Prof. Florian Schreck, Institut fr Quantenoptik und Quanteninformation Innsbruck
  • Prof. David Snoke, University of Pittsburgh
  • Prof. Boris Svistunov, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Prof. Marzena Szymanska, University of Warwick
  • Prof. Makoto Tsubota, Osaka City University
  • Dr. Chris Vale, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Dr. Lei Wang, ETH Zurich
  • Prof. David Weiss, Pennsylvania State University
  • Dr. Ryan Wilson, NIST
  • Dr. Tod Wright, University of Queensland

Local Organizer and Chair

  • Blair Blakie (Department of Physics, University of Otago, NZ)

International Chair

  • Andrew Daley (Department of Physics, University of Pittsburgh, USA)

International Steering Committee

  • Matthew Davis (Department of Physics, University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Matthias Troyer (Institut f. Theoretische Physik, ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

International Steering Advisory Committee

  • Prof. Thomas Gasenzer, Heidelberg University
  • Prof. Crispin Gardiner, University of Otago
  • Prof. Tetsuro Nikuni, Tokyo University of Science
  • Dr. Nick Proukakis, Newcastle University
  • Prof. Luis Santos, University of Hannover
  • Prof. Jörg Schmiedmayer, Vienna University of Technology
  • Prof. Makoto Tsubota, Osaka City University